Both state and federal laws provide sanctions for possession, manufacture or distribution of illicit drugs. Penalties vary according to the substance involved. Under federal laws, penalties range from fines to long prison terms, including life imprisonment. Oregon law similarly provides penalties ranging from fines to prison terms.
Oregon law prohibits, and allows fines for minors (persons under the age of 21) who possess or attempt to purchase alcohol (fines up to $300). The sanction for providing liquor to a minor can be a fine, or a fine and jail term, depending on the circumstances. Mandatory minimum sentences are:
- First conviction, $350;
- Second conviction, $1,000; and
- Third or subsequent conviction, $1,000 and imprisonment of not less than 30 days.
Oregon law also prohibits the possession of tobacco products by anyone under the age of 18, and the sale of tobacco products to anyone under the age of 18. Violation of these laws may result in fines of up to $300.
Students seeking help with an alcohol or drug problem at Chemeketa are encouraged to visit the Advising and Counseling Center in Building 2.
Click on the links for specifics regarding Chemeketa's policies