#### Minutes July 22, 2020

### CHEMEKETA COMMUNITY COLLEGE

### SPECIAL BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING MINUTES

July 8, 2020

### I. SPECIAL SESSION

### A. CALL TO ORDER

Diane Watson, Chair, called the special board meeting to order at 1:01 pm. The meeting was held remotely via Zoom and it was live streamed and captioned.

#### **B. ROLL CALL**

**Members in Attendance:** Ed Dodson, Vice Chair; Betsy Earls; Jackie Franke; Ken Hector; Neva Hutchinson; Ron Pittman; and Diane Watson, Chair.

**College Administrators in Attendance:** Jessica Howard, President/Chief Executive Officer; David Hallett, Vice President, Governance and Administration; Jim Eustrom, Vice President, Instruction and Student Services/Campus President, Yamhill Valley Campus; and Miriam Scharer, Vice President/Chief Financial Officer.

**Board Representatives in Attendance**: Marshall Roache, Chemeketa Exempt Association; Steve Wolfe, Chemeketa Faculty Association; Matt Davies, Chemeketa Faculty Association; and Terry Rohse, Chemeketa Classified Association.

### C. COMMENTS FROM THE AUDIENCE

None were heard.

## D. SEPARATE ACTION

#### Approval of Ratification of the Chemeketa Faculty Association Contract

David Hallett reported the Chemeketa Faculty Association voted and approved the new oneyear contract to be effective July 1, 2020–June 30, 2021. David said that a hard copy of the signatory page in the packet will be sent to each person who needs to sign so it can be included in the final printed version of the contract.

Diane Watson thanked the administration and the faculty association for their good bargaining and good faith in coming to an agreement that works for both parties.

Jackie Franke moved and Neva Hutchinson seconded a motion to ratify the contract with the Chemeketa Faculty Association to be effective July 1, 2020–June 30, 2021.

A roll call vote was taken, and the motion CARRIED.

Minutes July 22, 2020

Special Meeting Minutes Chemeketa Board of Education July 8, 2020 Page 2

### E. REORGANIZATION OF THE COLLEGE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Neva Hutchinson nominated Ed Dodson for board chair for 2020–2021; the motion was seconded by Ken Hector.

A roll call vote was taken, and the motion CARRIED.

Ken Hector nominated Jackie Franke for board vice chair for 2020–2021; the motion was seconded by Neva Hutchinson.

A roll call vote was taken, and the motion CARRIED.

# F. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 1:10 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Julie Deuchars

**Board Secretary** 

due 23. Dolson

**Board Chair** 

Honar

President/Chief Executive Officer

July 22, 2020 Date