Driver Ed Student & Parent Handbook
You, your student, the class instructor an in-car instructor will work closely over the next few weeks.
Driver Ed Student Information
Welcome to Chemeketa's Driver Education program. We hope this information helps you and your parent/guardian understand the classroom and in-car learning experience.
You may have a strong interest in the many benefits a driver's license offers. This course is not designed to just help you obtain a license. Our goal is to help you to acquire a set of low-risk driving behaviors that will hopefully serve you for a lifetime of crash-free driving.
However, this course cannot guarantee that you will be a good driver. Your personality, emotions, responsibility, attitudes and perceptions play a vital role in the type of driver you will become. Chemeketa's job is to provide you with the needed cognitive, physical and social skills necessary for you to become a conscientious, productive and cooperative low-risk driver. your job is to commit to incorporating the skills provided. How seriously you integrate these skills will directly affect your level of success.
Your student, the classroom instructor, in-car instructor and you will work closely for the next few weeks. We want this class to be a positive and productive experience that will hopefully result in your student acquiring safe driving patterns and habits that will last a lifetime.
The increasing complexity on today’s roadways requires an increase in the driving skills of motorists, all of who share the responsibility of handling vehicles safely. Parents of teenagers enrolled in driver education want to assist their students in perfecting the mental, social and physical driving skills they are learning. But that can be difficult if you are not familiar with program policies, risk reduction concepts, appropriate in-car procedures or the newest Oregon State driving laws. This information outlines some components of our program –
- An overview of the course
- Answers to frequently asked questions about our program policies
- Information to help your child become a low-risk driver in our high-risk world
- Talk about and support the program
- Provide practice driving time at home
- Encourage your student to develop the skills, attitudes and habits that will make them a low risk and highly aware driver
The course fee and any additional costs accrued during the course must be paid before a certificate will be issued.
- The course fee is $280 for students under 18 with an Instruction Permit
- The course fee is $500 for adults over 18 with a permit or license
- If a student gets their license and/or turns 18 before they finish with the final drive an additional fee of $220 is required before a completion certificate is issued
Students may receive a complete refund of the course fee if they withdraw within the first four classroom hours of the first class. There may be exceptions due to illness or certain emergencies to be determined by the Driver Education office.
- Students with Disability Accommodations
About the Course
This course is a three-phase program –
Our course is designed and structured with student mastery in mind. The Oregon Driver Playbook curriculum contains eight chapters and 18powerpaks that will be covered over 30 hours of classroom instruction. The chapters are –
- Classroom instruction
- In-car instruction
- Home-practice driving in the family vehicle
- Chapter 1: Uniting Driver & Vehicle
- Chapter 2: Knowing Where You Are
- Chapter 3: You Are In Control
- Chapter 4: Find, Solve, Control
- Chapter 5: You Control The Intersection
- Chapter 6: Space Management
- Chapter 7: The Science of Driving
- Chapter 8: Create Control
- 18 PowerPaks
ATTENDANCE & TARDINESS
While attendance is mandatory, we know that illness or other necessary absences may arise. If excused absences result in fewer than 30 hours of attendance during the course, the student will be required to make a class time at another location to meet the required 30-hour minimum. If the student does not make up the time it will result in a failing grade and will not receive a certificate.
Upon the first day of returning from an absence, it is the responsibility of the student to talk with the teacher to determine the work that needs to be made up.
Tardiness is arriving late to any of the classroom session. The time that the student is late will be deducted from the seat time available for that class day.
*Please note that instructors can give extra assignments for tardiness and for being absent
No Show & Late Fees
Instructors plan on driving with two to three students during a scheduled driving session. It is not advisable for instructors to drive with only one student nor is it our school policy to do so. Therefore, it is a major inconvenience when students do not arrive for their scheduled drive. When a student fails to show up for a scheduled drive or fails to notify an instructor 24+ hours prior to an absence, he or she will be charged a $50 cancellation fee and will be required to pay that fee before the next scheduled drive can occur.
Class Materials and Texts
Students will be provided one textbook Oregon Driver Playbook that will be the students to keep. This textbook is required at every class to be successful in the program.
Other textbooks may be used in class at the teacher’s discretion.
This phase of the course is designed to provide the student with actual driving experience for those skills learned in the classroom phase. Students must have their instruction permit with them during each drive lesson and will be required to show the permit to their instructor before they are allowed in the driver's seat. At no time will a student be allowed to drive without having the instruction permit with them.
The amount of time spent in the instruction vehicle is determined by the student's needs and performance. Our course requires students spend a minimum of –
Sometimes more driving time may be required in order for the student to attain an acceptable level of driving performance.In-car lessons include six two-hour sessions and require –
- Six hours behind-the-wheel driving
- Six hours in the back seat observing
- For a total of 12 hours in the vehicle
The sixth drive of our course includes the DMV drive test. This means that if an eligible student passes our program their DMV drive test will be waived. (All other DMV requirements still apply).
- 60 minutes as the behind-the-wheel driver
- 60 minutes as an active passenger/observer
- This totals 12 hours in the vehicle
- Students to complete classroom assignments before each driving lesson
- Students attend their scheduled lesson or notify their instructor 24+ hours in advance of their absence
Assigned Home Practice
At the conclusion of each driving lesson, the instructor will provide the student with an in-car lesson record form. On that form you will see –
This form must be signed by the parent and returned to the instructor before the next scheduled driving lesson. Providing opportunities for your student driver to practice these specific behaviors will improve student performance and increase the likelihood that they will positively incorporate these newly learned skills.
- What skills have been performed during that lesson
- The level of performance as well as suggestions for student practice
Every effort will be made to complete the behind-the-wheel training during class enrollment. However, due to large enrollment, car availability and scheduling conflicts, some students may need to complete this phase after the next classroom session has begun.
*Please be aware that Oregon law prevents a DE student to complete the final drive before the 35th day following the first day of class. Also, the final drive must be completed within 180 days of the first class.
Course Completion Certificate
Upon successful completion of classroom and in-car instruction, the student will receive a certificate of completion from their instructor. If for some reason you need a replacement certificate, there is a $7 fee and may take up to five-seven days to be replaced.
One hundred percent of all classroom assignments, test and all drives must be completed with an 80% or better prior to the last scheduled day of class (unless drive lessons are scheduled to be completed after the last scheduled day of class).
Student Conduct, Alcohol or Drug Use
Good attitudes and manners are necessary and the most important requirement of the course.
This means students should act with –
- Self discipline
- Good work habits
- Courtesy to others
- Respect for authority
- A positive outlook
Responsibility plays an important role in this course. Irresponsible people do not belong on our roadways. Each student will be advised orally and in writing at the beginning of class about these expectations. Student driver must be prepared to accept the responsibilities and consequences of their choice of behavior.
Removal from the Driver Education Program
Students may be dropped from our program with a “fail” grade for any of the following –
- Excessive tardiness
- Excessive absences
- Failure to complete assigned work
- Cheating (sharing or receiving answers)
- Being under the influence of alcohol or any other illegal drugs during any of the instructional phases
- Misuse of driver education equipment
- Repeated and willful violation of traffic laws
PARENTS & GUARDIANS CAN HELP
Take an early interest in the progress of your student. Please impress upon your new driver that the illegal use of a vehicle carries severe consequences. If these violations occur, the student will be removed from this course. The Oregon State Patrol, the DMV and our instructors all recognize the importance of practice driving opportunities for the learner. This means we require that you provide opportunities for your student driver to practice.
Talk with your teen driver about his or her progress in both the classroom and the in-car phases throughout the course.
Helping Your Teen Driver
- Set a good example when you drive
- Keep your student accountable for assigned course work and attendance. Ask for, review and sign off on every in-car lesson
- Provide a vehicle for practice sessions
- Plan each session based on the suggestions sent home by the teacher
- Reinforce the skills taught by the Driver Education teacher. If differences come up please contact the instructor for clarification
- Make sure the student is familiar with all controls and safety devices in each of the family vehicles
- Remain calm. A soft, steady voice is most helpful
- Do not assume your teenager knows what you want them to do, but rather explain beforehand what is expected
- Give all directions clearly, calmly and well in advance of the maneuver
- Be ready to assist with verbal steering guidance as well as guidance well in advance of potential trouble
- When riding in the passenger seat, remember you are the licensed responsible driver of the car. Make sure you are always scanning the driving scene and are ready to react to any driving situation
Expect your student to make mistakes. Separate physical errors (turning the wheel too soon) from mental errors. Look for positive situations to make positive compliments.
After Your Student Has Completed the Course
- Recognize that your teen has developed beginning level skills
- Provide a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving practice prior to securing an Oregon State Driver’s License
- Take your teen to obtain a license only when you feel the time is right
- Arrange for the teenager’s use of the family car (or his/her car) and then discuss the limitations of its use through the use of a contract agreement
- Set ground rules in order to provide the opportunity for students to demonstrate maturity and responsibility
- Require that your teen and all passengers use seat belts (it's the law)
- Insist that your teen controls the speed of the vehicle (it's the law)
- Require your teen to observe curfews (it's the law)
- Know your teenager's friends and their driving habits